Travel Tip
 Conf TL
 RF Club
 FM Alert
 FM Approval
News Super Search
Posting Date From:
Posting Date To:
IR Press Release:


Start RailFanning NOW, learn to live - before you run out of time - Varun

Full Site Search
  Full Site Search  
Tue Jul 7 08:26:49 IST
Advanced Search
<<prev entry    next entry>>
News Entry# 409415
The Railways has announced a full refund for passengers who booked tickets to or from the eliminated stations.
With passenger train services resuming in four days, the Railways has limited the number of stoppages for inter-district and inter-state special trains in Kerala, as per the demand of the state government. With the modified train schedule, most Kerala districts will only have a single stop for these trains.
The changes have been brought in four (to and fro) train services. A statement by the Southern Railways says that the elimination of stops was made
due to the prevalent COVID-19 situation.
“Based on the request by the government of Kerala and as approved and directed by Railway Board, in view of COVID-19 pandemic the stoppages have been eliminated for the special trains notified to run from June 1,” it said.
Kerala has been witnessing an exponential increase in the number of people being infected by the novel coronavirus, over the past two weeks.
Elimination of stoppages was announced for Jan Shatabdi special trains (Nos. 02076 and 02075) between Thiruvananthapuram and Kozhikode districts in Kerala. Apart from the origin station and the destination station, the trains will only have stops at Kollam, Alappuzha, Ernakulam Junction, Thrissur, Shoranur and Tirur. Four stations in between— Varkala Sivagiri, Kayamkulam, Cherthala and Aluva— have been eliminated.
Stations were also eliminated for Jan Shatabdi special trains (Nos. 02082 and 02081) between Thiruvananthapuram and Kannur. The trains will only halt at Kollam, Chengannur, Thiruvalla, Kottayam, Ernakulam Town, Thrissur, Shoranur, Tirur, and Kozhikode, in addition to Kannur and Thiruvananthapuram. Kayamkulam, Mavelikara, Vadakara and Thalassery stations have been eliminated.
In addition to these, stoppages have been eliminated for two inter-state trains to Kerala.
The daily special trains (Nos. 06346 and 06345) between Thiruvananthapuram Central in Kerala and Lokmanya Tilak Terminus in Mumbai will only have stops in between at Kollam Junction, Ambalappuzha, Alappuzha, Ernakulam Junction, Thrissur, Shoranur Junction, Kozhikode, Kannur, Charvattur and Kasaragod. 15 other stops in between in Kerala have been cancelled.
The daily special trains from Kerala to Delhi, Ernakulam Junction - Hazrat Nizamuddin superfast (Nos. 02617 and 02618) will stop at Thrissur, Shoranur, Tirur, Kozhikode, Kannur, Payangadi and Kasaragod. 11 other stops in Kerala for the trains are cancelled.
Meanwhile, no stoppages have been eliminated for the Ernakulam- Nizamuddin non-AC Duronto special trains (Nos. 02283 and 02284).
Though booking for special trains that will commence service from June 1 have already begun, the Railways has announced that full refund for passengers who booked to or from these eliminated stations will be granted.
Scroll to Top
Scroll to Bottom
Go to Mobile site
Important Note: This website NEVER solicits for Money or Donations. Please beware of anyone requesting/demanding money on behalf of IRI. Thanks.
Disclaimer: This website has NO affiliation with the Government-run site of Indian Railways. This site does NOT claim 100% accuracy of fast-changing Rail Information. YOU are responsible for independently confirming the validity of information through other sources.
India Rail Info Privacy Policy